Welcome to the Australian Shop & Office Fitting Industry Association

Subscribe to Fitout News today Click Here!

Apprentice Shop and Office Fitters Honoured at Apprenticeship Awards
Home / Asofia News / Apprentice Shop and Office Fitters Honoured at Apprenticeship Awards

The next generation of the shop and office fitting industry have been awarded for their hard work and dedication to the job at hand by the Australian Shop and Office Fitting Industry Association (ASOFIA).

 The ASOFIA/Thomas Brown Shopfitting Industry Apprentice of the Year Award was presented at the recent ASOFIA conference held in South Australia.

Matthew Reed was named WA Apprentice of the Year and then National Apprentice of the Year for his outstanding contribution and dedication to his employer, Masterplanners, as well as the greater industry.

Awards Judge Tom Brown, of Thomas Brown Shopfitters,  was very impressed at the calibre of candidates put forward for this year’s Award program.

“It was a delight to interview all the candidates and it was encouraging to see they all possess the eagerness to learn, improve and seek long term success in the shoplifting industry.

“Their employers are justifiably very proud of their apprentices and can certainly expect big things from them in the future.

“It was not an easy task to choose the ultimate winner! The candidates were so impressive that it took a great deal of deliberation before the decision was made. In the end the winner ticked all the boxes, excelling in his TAFE studies and dedication to doing his best and showed a maturity beyond his years.” said Mr Brown.

State winners this year include:

NSW: James Wachjo from Ryde Joinery

VIC:     Timothy Lockhart from Prosolid

QLD:   Caleb Hoffman from Woodland Shopfitting

SA:      Brodie Thurtell from Winkle Shopfitters

WA:     Matthew Reed from Masterplanners


“It is no mean feat to achieve this level of accomplishment. We are extremely honoured to have such talent within the industry, as well as within the Association,” said ASOFIA CEO, Gerard Ryan.

State winners will be honoured at their own state award ceremonies.

Send Email

Fields marked with an * are required!

Note! To change your password follow this link.